Foreign LLCs Registering in New York: Applications for Authority
Version 2026-10 data as of October 19, 2026
Applications for Authority on file with the New York Department of State from foreign limited liability companies and foreign professional service limited liability companies, counted once per DOS ID at its first application.
LLCs formed outside New York filed 12,345 first Applications for Authority with the New York Department of State in 2025, more than in any earlier year on record. From January 1 to October 19, 2026, they filed 10,535, compared with 9,765 in the same period of 2025. LLC Publishers built this dataset from the Department of State's public filing records on NY Open Data, as of October 19, 2026.
Every figure on this page except the price table is counted from the New York Department of State's public filing records on NY Open Data, extracted October 22, 2026, with filings through October 19, 2026. Each Application for Authority counts once per DOS ID, at the entity's first application. The price table is LLC Publishers' own price list, not State data.
Key figures
- Of the 13,109 foreign LLCs that filed an Application for Authority in New York from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 and stated a usable formation date, 42.3% had been formed in their home jurisdiction more than a year earlier: 63.5% of those formed outside Delaware and 26.7% of Delaware LLCs.
- 57.5% of the 13,115 foreign LLCs that filed an Application for Authority in New York from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 were formed in Delaware. The next home jurisdictions were New Jersey (881), Florida (742), Wyoming (572).
- 8.6% of the foreign LLCs that filed an Application for Authority from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 filed under a fictitious name (13.6% of those formed outside Delaware), and 5.5% had a true name that matched another entity's active name on the Department of State's records.
- 99.4% of the 13,115 Applications for Authority filed from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 carry an effective date equal to their filing date in the Department of State's records; 7 carry a later one.
- Of the 1,496 foreign LLC Applications for Authority the Department of State approved from September 21, 2026 to October 20, 2026, 28.9% were filed in a named individual's name (52.9% for LLCs formed outside Delaware).
- Of the 32,085 foreign LLCs whose first Application for Authority was filed in 2022 to 2024, 6.4% filed a Certificate of Change within a year of the application.
Applications for Authority by year
| Year | Applications | January 1 to October 19 | Formed in Delaware | Named New York County | Named Albany County | Formed more than a year earlier | Fictitious name |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1994 (first year on record) | 61 | 1 | 43 | 70.5% | 1.6% | 6.6% | 0.0% |
| 1995 | 544 | 395 | 430 | 65.3% | 4.4% | 1.7% | 0.7% |
| 1996 | 885 | 680 | 680 | 66.3% | 4.3% | 10.6% | 0.5% |
| 1997 | 1,446 | 1,074 | 1,135 | 67.4% | 4.9% | 10.2% | 1.0% |
| 1998 | 2,345 | 1,822 | 1,888 | 67.8% | 5.2% | 11.6% | 1.9% |
| 1999 | 2,994 | 2,289 | 2,439 | 65.8% | 5.3% | 14.3% | 1.6% |
| 2000 | 3,596 | 2,901 | 2,921 | 66.8% | 4.6% | 13.8% | 1.8% |
| 2001 | 3,596 | 2,931 | 2,835 | 63.4% | 6.5% | 17.2% | 2.3% |
| 2002 | 3,947 | 3,025 | 2,998 | 64.4% | 5.2% | 20.5% | 2.8% |
| 2003 | 4,586 | 3,563 | 3,511 | 63.7% | 6.0% | 21.3% | 3.1% |
| 2004 | 5,171 | 4,050 | 3,801 | 59.2% | 7.0% | 21.8% | 4.7% |
| 2005 | 6,287 | 4,991 | 4,675 | 60.1% | 6.4% | 22.5% | 6.9% |
| 2006 | 7,318 | 5,794 | 5,510 | 60.0% | 7.0% | 27.8% | 7.1% |
| 2007 | 8,516 | 6,911 | 6,630 | 63.3% | 7.3% | 24.7% | 6.1% |
| 2008 | 7,050 | 5,864 | 4,974 | 60.3% | 7.2% | 30.8% | 7.8% |
| 2009 | 6,128 | 4,984 | 4,149 | 58.0% | 9.0% | 33.9% | 8.0% |
| 2010 | 6,406 | 5,065 | 4,344 | 55.4% | 10.4% | 31.4% | 7.9% |
| 2011 | 7,000 | 5,682 | 4,931 | 57.4% | 10.1% | 32.0% | 6.9% |
| 2012 | 7,597 | 6,070 | 5,351 | 55.2% | 11.0% | 31.7% | 6.6% |
| 2013 | 8,342 | 6,640 | 5,805 | 53.3% | 12.4% | 31.8% | 5.9% |
| 2014 | 9,098 | 7,293 | 6,316 | 52.8% | 12.1% | 31.1% | 6.4% |
| 2015 | 9,394 | 7,433 | 6,548 | 50.9% | 13.7% | 31.9% | 6.5% |
| 2016 | 9,220 | 7,518 | 6,081 | 47.2% | 13.8% | 33.9% | 7.4% |
| 2017 | 9,294 | 7,394 | 6,156 | 46.0% | 15.2% | 35.0% | 7.3% |
| 2018 | 10,237 | 8,280 | 6,747 | 44.9% | 17.2% | 34.3% | 7.1% |
| 2019 | 10,498 | 8,337 | 6,868 | 43.8% | 19.0% | 35.0% | 7.0% |
| 2020 | 8,998 | 7,121 | 5,771 | 38.6% | 20.3% | 36.9% | 7.8% |
| 2021 | 10,712 | 8,514 | 7,204 | 39.1% | 21.3% | 34.7% | 9.1% |
| 2022 | 10,820 | 8,885 | 6,956 | 36.1% | 21.6% | 38.1% | 8.4% |
| 2023 | 10,357 | 8,301 | 6,341 | 36.4% | 24.6% | 42.2% | 9.1% |
| 2024 | 10,908 | 8,724 | 6,326 | 35.1% | 26.0% | 43.8% | 9.4% |
| 2025 | 12,345 | 9,765 | 7,008 | 36.0% | 26.4% | 43.1% | 8.4% |
| 2026 (year to date) | 10,535 | 10,535 | 6,005 | 34.6% | 27.8% | 42.5% | 8.6% |
Each row counts the Applications for Authority on file with the New York Department of State whose filing date falls in that year, once per DOS ID (the entity's first application), for foreign limited liability companies and foreign professional service limited liability companies. It includes LLCs that later surrendered their authority, so each row is that year's flow of new registrations, not a count of LLCs on file today. The county and fictitious-name shares are of that year's applications; "Formed more than a year earlier" is of the applications that state a usable home-state formation date. 2026 is partial, through October 19, 2026: compare it only with the "January 1 to October 19" column, never with a full year.
Home jurisdiction
| Home jurisdiction | Count | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Delaware | 7,545 | 57.53% |
| New Jersey | 881 | 6.72% |
| Florida | 742 | 5.66% |
| Wyoming | 572 | 4.36% |
| Texas | 375 | 2.86% |
| Pennsylvania | 288 | 2.20% |
| Connecticut | 264 | 2.01% |
| California | 257 | 1.96% |
| Georgia | 141 | 1.08% |
| Colorado | 133 | 1.01% |
| Virginia | 130 | 0.99% |
| Nevada | 125 | 0.95% |
| Massachusetts | 125 | 0.95% |
| Ohio | 119 | 0.91% |
| Illinois | 108 | 0.82% |
| All other jurisdictions (40 jurisdictions) | 1,310 | 9.99% |
| Total | 13,115 | 100.00% |
Denominator: the 13,115 Applications for Authority filed by foreign LLCs and foreign professional service LLCs from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026, once per DOS ID. The home jurisdiction is the one the application states, as the State file records it. The 15 largest are shown; the CSV lists every jurisdiction with its count for every year since 1994.
| Home jurisdiction | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | 2026 (year to date) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delaware | 6,747 | 6,868 | 5,771 | 7,204 | 6,956 | 6,341 | 6,326 | 7,008 | 6,005 |
| New Jersey | 596 | 638 | 516 | 601 | 618 | 679 | 756 | 843 | 700 |
| Florida | 373 | 340 | 349 | 409 | 501 | 524 | 589 | 710 | 609 |
| Wyoming | 102 | 131 | 156 | 191 | 191 | 263 | 372 | 537 | 485 |
| Texas | 155 | 173 | 186 | 178 | 213 | 261 | 276 | 325 | 318 |
| Pennsylvania | 178 | 196 | 176 | 164 | 215 | 216 | 246 | 266 | 230 |
| Connecticut | 151 | 197 | 113 | 196 | 208 | 172 | 231 | 241 | 218 |
| California | 179 | 183 | 160 | 218 | 233 | 209 | 247 | 257 | 206 |
| Georgia | 85 | 81 | 90 | 77 | 120 | 106 | 112 | 142 | 119 |
| Colorado | 78 | 62 | 59 | 76 | 72 | 76 | 75 | 123 | 94 |
Each cell counts the Applications for Authority filed that year by foreign LLCs from that home jurisdiction, once per DOS ID. Jurisdictions are the 10 with the most applications from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026. 2026 runs through October 19, 2026 and is not comparable to a full year.
County named on the Application for Authority
| County | Count | Share |
|---|---|---|
| New York County (Manhattan) | 4,520 | 34.46% |
| Albany County | 3,603 | 27.47% |
| Kings County (Brooklyn) | 808 | 6.16% |
| Nassau County | 577 | 4.40% |
| Westchester County | 544 | 4.15% |
| Suffolk County | 499 | 3.80% |
| Erie County | 339 | 2.58% |
| Queens County | 306 | 2.33% |
| Rockland County | 258 | 1.97% |
| Monroe County | 186 | 1.42% |
| Bronx County | 129 | 0.98% |
| Saratoga County | 114 | 0.87% |
| Onondaga County | 111 | 0.85% |
| Orange County | 105 | 0.80% |
| Dutchess County | 94 | 0.72% |
| Richmond County (Staten Island) | 74 | 0.56% |
| Ulster County | 59 | 0.45% |
| Niagara County | 57 | 0.43% |
| Broome County | 53 | 0.40% |
| Chemung County | 43 | 0.33% |
| Oneida County | 41 | 0.31% |
| Schenectady County | 36 | 0.27% |
| Rensselaer County | 35 | 0.27% |
| Chautauqua County | 30 | 0.23% |
| Warren County | 26 | 0.20% |
| Madison County | 26 | 0.20% |
| Sullivan County | 25 | 0.19% |
| Tompkins County | 22 | 0.17% |
| Ontario County | 22 | 0.17% |
| Essex County | 22 | 0.17% |
| Steuben County | 22 | 0.17% |
| Putnam County | 21 | 0.16% |
| Columbia County | 21 | 0.16% |
| Delaware County | 21 | 0.16% |
| Jefferson County | 20 | 0.15% |
| Greene County | 19 | 0.14% |
| Washington County | 18 | 0.14% |
| Cayuga County | 13 | 0.10% |
| Cattaraugus County | 12 | 0.09% |
| Clinton County | 11 | 0.08% |
| St. Lawrence County | 11 | 0.08% |
| Herkimer County | 11 | 0.08% |
| Seneca County | 11 | 0.08% |
| Oswego County | 10 | 0.08% |
| Montgomery County | 10 | 0.08% |
| Wayne County | 10 | 0.08% |
| Franklin County | 10 | 0.08% |
| Otsego County | 10 | 0.08% |
| Yates County | 10 | 0.08% |
| Allegany County | 9 | 0.07% |
| Fulton County | 8 | 0.06% |
| Genesee County | 8 | 0.06% |
| Wyoming County | 8 | 0.06% |
| Livingston County | 6 | 0.05% |
| Tioga County | 6 | 0.05% |
| Chenango County | 6 | 0.05% |
| Cortland County | 6 | 0.05% |
| Lewis County | 6 | 0.05% |
| Hamilton County | 6 | 0.05% |
| Orleans County | 4 | 0.03% |
| Schuyler County | 4 | 0.03% |
| Not stated | 2 | 0.02% |
| Schoharie County | 1 | 0.01% |
| Total | 13,115 | 100.02% |
Denominator: the 13,115 Applications for Authority filed by foreign LLCs and foreign professional service LLCs from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026, once per DOS ID. County is the county stated on the Application for Authority (item THIRD) at filing, not necessarily where the LLC operates. Counties named on no application in the window are not listed; the CSV adds each county's count across all years and a split by Delaware and other home jurisdictions. The share naming New York County and Albany County in each year is in the by-year table above.
Time from home-state formation to the New York filing
| Home jurisdiction | Usable formation dates | 0 to 30 days | 31 to 365 days | 1 to 3 years | More than 3 years | More than a year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All | 13,109 | 30.5% | 27.2% | 14.7% | 27.6% | 42.3% |
| Delaware | 7,543 | 44.1% | 29.1% | 11.4% | 15.3% | 26.7% |
| Other jurisdictions | 5,566 | 12.0% | 24.5% | 19.1% | 44.4% | 63.5% |
| New Jersey | 881 | 10.7% | 27.1% | 19.6% | 42.6% | 62.2% |
| Florida | 741 | 9.9% | 28.3% | 22.8% | 39.0% | 61.8% |
| Wyoming | 572 | 31.8% | 37.6% | 19.6% | 11.0% | 30.6% |
| Texas | 375 | 7.7% | 24.3% | 20.5% | 47.5% | 68.0% |
| Pennsylvania | 288 | 12.2% | 21.2% | 16.3% | 50.3% | 66.7% |
| Connecticut | 264 | 9.5% | 22.0% | 22.3% | 46.2% | 68.6% |
| California | 256 | 7.0% | 18.8% | 22.3% | 52.0% | 74.2% |
| Georgia | 141 | 7.8% | 17.0% | 15.6% | 59.6% | 75.2% |
Denominator for each row: that group's Applications for Authority filed from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 that state a usable home-state formation date (stated, and not after the filing date); 6 applications in the window are left out for that reason. The formation date is the one the applicant wrote on the application. It says nothing about when the LLC began any activity in New York. The 8 jurisdictions below "Other jurisdictions" are the largest outside Delaware.
| Words in the name | Usable formation dates | More than a year | More than 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Name has a construction or trades word (Construction, Contracting, Builders, Roofing, ...) | 240 | 64.6% | 45.4% |
| Name has "Consulting", "Consultant(s)" or "Advisory" | 285 | 60.0% | 42.5% |
| Name has a medical or health word (Medical, Health, Dental, Clinic, ...) | 375 | 55.7% | 35.5% |
| Name has a technology word (Tech, Software, Digital, Data, ...) | 398 | 53.3% | 36.4% |
| Name has an insurance word (Insurance, Underwriters, Risk) | 395 | 47.6% | 30.1% |
| Name has a real estate word (Realty, Property, Apartments, Development, ...) | 687 | 39.4% | 28.7% |
| Name has a capital or investment word (Capital, Partners, Fund, Equity, ...) | 1,198 | 37.6% | 21.8% |
| Name has "Holding(s)" or "Holdco" | 578 | 33.6% | 19.9% |
| Name has an energy word (Solar, Energy, Power, Storage, ...) | 383 | 25.8% | 17.0% |
| Name starts with a street number | 875 | 14.7% | 7.9% |
| Name has a deal-vehicle word (Owner, Borrower, Mezz, Propco, Lessee, Landlord, Tenant) | 369 | 7.0% | 3.3% |
Denominator for each row: the Applications for Authority filed from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 whose LLC name contains one of that row's words and that state a usable formation date. A word in a name is not a business purpose ("Partners" and "Capital" appear in every industry), a name can match several rows, and most names match none. Each row's label gives examples of its words.
Fictitious names and names already on file
| Group | Applications | Fictitious name | Fictitious-name share | True name matched an active New York name | Matched share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All | 13,115 | 1,133 | 8.6% | 724 | 5.5% |
| Delaware | 7,545 | 377 | 5.0% | 264 | 3.5% |
| Other jurisdictions | 5,570 | 756 | 13.6% | 460 | 8.3% |
| New Jersey | 881 | 111 | 12.6% | 78 | 8.9% |
| Florida | 742 | 101 | 13.6% | 35 | 4.7% |
| Wyoming | 572 | 70 | 12.2% | 44 | 7.7% |
| Texas | 375 | 43 | 11.5% | 23 | 6.1% |
| Pennsylvania | 288 | 40 | 13.9% | 25 | 8.7% |
| Connecticut | 264 | 45 | 17.0% | 32 | 12.1% |
| California | 257 | 30 | 11.7% | 21 | 8.2% |
| Georgia | 141 | 14 | 9.9% | 11 | 7.8% |
| Colorado | 133 | 18 | 13.5% | 12 | 9.0% |
| Virginia | 130 | 21 | 16.2% | 13 | 10.0% |
| Filed under a fictitious name | 1,133 | 1,133 | 100.0% | 683 | 60.3% |
Denominator for each row: that group's Applications for Authority filed from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026, once per DOS ID. "Fictitious name" means the application was filed under a fictitious name, which the Department of State records separately from the LLC's true name. "True name matched" means another entity's active name on the Department of State's name history, filed before the application, has the same name once case, punctuation, spacing, articles and entity designators (LLC, Inc., Corp. and the like) are ignored. That match misses plurals, numerals and near-spellings, so it is a floor, and the other name's status is its status today.
Effective date and filing date
| Filings | Count | Effective on the filing date | Share | Effective later | Effective earlier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applications for Authority, last 12 months | 13,115 | 13,031 | 99.4% | 7 | 77 |
| Applications for Authority, all years | 226,231 | 226,117 | 99.9% | 19 | 95 |
| Articles of Organization of New York LLCs, last 12 months | 180,557 | 179,343 | 99.3% | 1,212 | 2 |
Denominators: the Applications for Authority filed by foreign LLCs from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 (13,115) and in all years on record (226,231), once per DOS ID, as dated in the Department of State's records; and, for contrast, the 180,557 Articles of Organization filed by New York LLCs over the same 12 months. The Department of State's records do not explain the "earlier" values.
Applications filed in an individual's name
| Home jurisdiction | Applications approved | Filed in a named individual's name | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| All | 1,496 | 433 | 28.9% |
| Delaware | 884 | 109 | 12.3% |
| Other jurisdictions | 612 | 324 | 52.9% |
Denominator for each row: the foreign LLC Applications for Authority the Department of State approved from September 21, 2026 to October 20, 2026, from the State's daily filing file (the only State file that names the filer, and it keeps about 30 days of approvals). A filing counts as "in a named individual's name" when the filer named on it is a person, not a company, a law firm, an accountant or the LLC itself. The filer is whoever the filing names, not who decided anything; an individual filer may be an owner, an employee or a firm's staff. Approvals in the window can include applications filed earlier.
Changes filed in the first year after the application
| Filing | LLCs | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Any of the filings below | 3,398 | 10.6% |
| Certificate of Change | 2,051 | 6.4% |
| Surrender of Authority | 605 | 1.9% |
| Certificate of Amendment | 472 | 1.5% |
| Certificate of Termination | 220 | 0.7% |
| Certificate of Correction | 127 | 0.4% |
| Certificate of Merger | 43 | 0.1% |
Denominator: the 32,085 foreign LLCs and foreign professional service LLCs whose first Application for Authority was filed in 2022 to 2024, each with a full year after the application on record. An LLC counts once per row however many such filings it made, and once in "Any of the filings below". Filings made by the LLC within 365 days of the application; a Certificate of Change by Agent (the agent's own filing) is not counted.
| Item changed | LLCs | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Address for service of process | 1,689 | 5.3% |
| Registered agent | 1,043 | 3.3% |
| County | 771 | 2.4% |
| True name | 370 | 1.2% |
| Home-state formation date | 0 | 0.0% |
| Home jurisdiction | 2 | <0.1% |
Denominator: the same 32,085 foreign LLCs. Each row counts the LLCs that filed, within a year of the application, a Certificate of Change, Amendment or Correction marked by the Department of State as changing that item. "County" counts only a change to a different county.
LLC Publishers' publication price by county
LLC Publishers publishes a foreign LLC's notice in the county named on its Application for Authority. LLC Publishers' price is one fixed, one-time total determined by the county on the LLC's Application for Authority. LLC Publishers' price covers both clerk-designated newspapers for the full six weeks, the notarized affidavits of publication, and the Certificate of Publication filed with the Department of State, the $50 state filing fee included. A customer is never quoted a statewide range. Newspaper rates vary by county. The LLC designates the county; LLC Publishers does not recommend one. These prices are LLC Publishers' own, not State data, and are read from its price list each time this page refreshes.
| County | Base price |
|---|---|
| Albany County | $395 |
| Allegany County | $425 |
| Bronx County | $1,745 |
| Broome County | $425 |
| Cattaraugus County | $425 |
| Cayuga County | $425 |
| Chautauqua County | $425 |
| Chemung County | $425 |
| Chenango County | $425 |
| Clinton County | $425 |
| Columbia County | $425 |
| Cortland County | $425 |
| Delaware County | $425 |
| Dutchess County | $425 |
| Erie County | $445 |
| Essex County | $425 |
| Franklin County | $425 |
| Fulton County | $425 |
| Genesee County | $425 |
| Greene County | $425 |
| Hamilton County | $425 |
| Herkimer County | $425 |
| Jefferson County | $425 |
| Kings County (Brooklyn) | $1,475 |
| Lewis County | $425 |
| Livingston County | $425 |
| Madison County | $425 |
| Monroe County | $595 |
| Montgomery County | $425 |
| Nassau County | $625 |
| New York County (Manhattan) | $1,795 |
| Niagara County | $445 |
| Oneida County | $425 |
| Onondaga County | $425 |
| Ontario County | $425 |
| Orange County | $425 |
| Orleans County | $425 |
| Oswego County | $425 |
| Otsego County | $425 |
| Putnam County | $685 |
| Queens County | $1,195 |
| Rensselaer County | $425 |
| Richmond County (Staten Island) | $1,295 |
| Rockland County | $445 |
| Saratoga County | $425 |
| Schenectady County | $425 |
| Schoharie County | $425 |
| Schuyler County | $425 |
| Seneca County | $425 |
| St. Lawrence County | $425 |
| Steuben County | $425 |
| Suffolk County | $625 |
| Sullivan County | $445 |
| Tioga County | $425 |
| Tompkins County | $425 |
| Ulster County | $425 |
| Warren County | $425 |
| Washington County | $425 |
| Wayne County | $425 |
| Westchester County | $395 |
| Wyoming County | $425 |
| Yates County | $425 |
Methodology
Every figure on this page except the price table is counted from the New York Department of State's public filing records on NY Open Data, extracted October 22, 2026, with filings through October 19, 2026. Each Application for Authority counts once per DOS ID, at the entity's first application. The price table is LLC Publishers' own price list, not State data.
- Source system
- New York Department of State records published on NY Open Data (data.ny.gov): "Corporations and Other Entities: All Filings" (dataset 63wc-4exh) for every Application for Authority and later filing; "Daily Corporation and Other Entity Filing Data" (k4vb-judh), the only State file that names the filer, for the individual-filer table; "All Filings - Name Status History" (ekwr-p59j) for the name match. Unlike the Delaware dataset on this site, nothing here comes from LLC Publishers' own database, except the price table, which is LLC Publishers' price list.
- Extraction timestamp
- Extracted from data.ny.gov on October 22, 2026. The latest filing date in the extract, October 19, 2026, is the "data as of" date throughout; "last 12 months" means applications filed October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026. The individual-filer table covers applications the Department of State approved September 21, 2026 to October 20, 2026: that file holds only about the last 30 days of approvals.
- Refresh frequency
- A fixed snapshot: the figures change only when LLC Publishers rebuilds the dataset from fresh extracts with the same queries, and the version label and "data as of" date change with it. The price table is the exception: it is read from LLC Publishers' price list and refreshes at most once every 24 hours.
- Included entity types
- "FOREIGN LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY" and "FOREIGN PROFESSIONAL SERVICE LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY" only, matched exactly. A substring match on "FOREIGN" would also pull in registered foreign limited liability partnerships and unauthorized foreign LLCs, so this dataset never uses one.
- Included statuses
- Every Application for Authority on file, whatever the entity's status today: an LLC that later surrendered its authority or ended still counts in the year it applied.
- Definition of "application"
- An "application" is a filing of the Department of State's document type "APPLICATION OF AUTHORITY". Each DOS ID counts once, at its first application (earliest filing date, then film number); the county, home jurisdiction, name and formation date come from that first application.
- Exclusions
- New York-formed LLCs (except the one contrast row in the effective-date table), foreign corporations, partnerships and LLPs. In the first-year table, a Certificate of Change by Agent and an agent's resignation are left out: each is the agent's own filing, not one the LLC made.
- Jurisdiction normalization
- The State file records the home jurisdiction as a two-letter code. U.S. state, District of Columbia and territory codes display as names; any other code displays as recorded (for example, Recorded as "EN"). The file records "NY" on a few dozen applications a year, although a foreign LLC is formed outside New York; those also display as recorded. A blank code displays as "Not stated" and is counted.
- County normalization
- County is the New York county named on the application (item THIRD). The State file shortens county names to ten characters; four are restored to their full names (Westchester, Cattaraugus, Schenectady, St. Lawrence). No other renaming or merging. On this page each county reads "<name> County", with the borough for a New York City county (for example, New York County (Manhattan)); the CSV keeps the State's names.
- How the by-year table is built
- Each year counts the applications filed that year (first per DOS ID), including LLCs that later surrendered their authority or ended, so the years are comparable flows of new registrations. 2026 is partial: the "January 1 to October 19" column counts each year over the same days, which is the like-for-like comparison.
- Duplicate and corrected filings
- A DOS ID with more than one Application for Authority on file counts once, at its first. A later correction or amendment does not change what that first application recorded; it appears only in the first-year table.
- Blank counties
- Empty county values and the literal text "Blank" both display as "Not stated", are kept as their own row and are counted in every total.
- Known limitations
- Dates are as the State file records them; the earliest Application for Authority on record is dated March 29, 1994. County is the county named on the application, not necessarily where the LLC operates. Formation dates are as the applicant stated them; a missing date, or one after the filing date, is left out of the formation-lag shares. Name-word groups are words in the name, not business purposes: a name can match several groups, and most names match none. The name match ignores case, punctuation, spacing, articles and entity designators but not plurals, numerals or near-spellings, so it is a floor, and it uses each matched name's status today. The individual-filer table is one 30-day approval window, and an individual filer may be an owner, an employee or a firm's staff.
- Revision policy
- The version label and dateModified change when the snapshot is rebuilt or the method changes. Earlier snapshots are not archived on this page.
Sources
- Corporations and Other Entities: All Filings (NY Open Data, dataset 63wc-4exh)
- Daily Corporation and Other Entity Filing Data (NY Open Data, dataset k4vb-judh)
- All Filings - Name Status History (NY Open Data, dataset ekwr-p59j)
Related guides
Suggested citation
LLC Publishers. (2026). Foreign LLCs Registering in New York: Applications for Authority (Version 2026-10) [Data set]. Retrieved October 23, 2026, from https://www.llcpublishers.com/es/research/foreign-llcs-in-new-york