Skip to main content
← Research Hub

Foreign LLCs Registering in New York: Applications for Authority

Version 2026-10 data as of October 19, 2026

Applications for Authority on file with the New York Department of State from foreign limited liability companies and foreign professional service limited liability companies, counted once per DOS ID at its first application.

LLCs formed outside New York filed 12,345 first Applications for Authority with the New York Department of State in 2025, more than in any earlier year on record. From January 1 to October 19, 2026, they filed 10,535, compared with 9,765 in the same period of 2025. LLC Publishers built this dataset from the Department of State's public filing records on NY Open Data, as of October 19, 2026.

Every figure on this page except the price table is counted from the New York Department of State's public filing records on NY Open Data, extracted October 22, 2026, with filings through October 19, 2026. Each Application for Authority counts once per DOS ID, at the entity's first application. The price table is LLC Publishers' own price list, not State data.

Key figures

  • Of the 13,109 foreign LLCs that filed an Application for Authority in New York from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 and stated a usable formation date, 42.3% had been formed in their home jurisdiction more than a year earlier: 63.5% of those formed outside Delaware and 26.7% of Delaware LLCs.
  • 57.5% of the 13,115 foreign LLCs that filed an Application for Authority in New York from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 were formed in Delaware. The next home jurisdictions were New Jersey (881), Florida (742), Wyoming (572).
  • 8.6% of the foreign LLCs that filed an Application for Authority from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 filed under a fictitious name (13.6% of those formed outside Delaware), and 5.5% had a true name that matched another entity's active name on the Department of State's records.
  • 99.4% of the 13,115 Applications for Authority filed from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 carry an effective date equal to their filing date in the Department of State's records; 7 carry a later one.
  • Of the 1,496 foreign LLC Applications for Authority the Department of State approved from September 21, 2026 to October 20, 2026, 28.9% were filed in a named individual's name (52.9% for LLCs formed outside Delaware).
  • Of the 32,085 foreign LLCs whose first Application for Authority was filed in 2022 to 2024, 6.4% filed a Certificate of Change within a year of the application.

Applications for Authority by year

Applications for Authority filed by foreign LLCs in New York, by year (as of October 19, 2026)
YearApplicationsJanuary 1 to October 19Formed in DelawareNamed New York CountyNamed Albany CountyFormed more than a year earlierFictitious name
1994 (first year on record)6114370.5%1.6%6.6%0.0%
199554439543065.3%4.4%1.7%0.7%
199688568068066.3%4.3%10.6%0.5%
19971,4461,0741,13567.4%4.9%10.2%1.0%
19982,3451,8221,88867.8%5.2%11.6%1.9%
19992,9942,2892,43965.8%5.3%14.3%1.6%
20003,5962,9012,92166.8%4.6%13.8%1.8%
20013,5962,9312,83563.4%6.5%17.2%2.3%
20023,9473,0252,99864.4%5.2%20.5%2.8%
20034,5863,5633,51163.7%6.0%21.3%3.1%
20045,1714,0503,80159.2%7.0%21.8%4.7%
20056,2874,9914,67560.1%6.4%22.5%6.9%
20067,3185,7945,51060.0%7.0%27.8%7.1%
20078,5166,9116,63063.3%7.3%24.7%6.1%
20087,0505,8644,97460.3%7.2%30.8%7.8%
20096,1284,9844,14958.0%9.0%33.9%8.0%
20106,4065,0654,34455.4%10.4%31.4%7.9%
20117,0005,6824,93157.4%10.1%32.0%6.9%
20127,5976,0705,35155.2%11.0%31.7%6.6%
20138,3426,6405,80553.3%12.4%31.8%5.9%
20149,0987,2936,31652.8%12.1%31.1%6.4%
20159,3947,4336,54850.9%13.7%31.9%6.5%
20169,2207,5186,08147.2%13.8%33.9%7.4%
20179,2947,3946,15646.0%15.2%35.0%7.3%
201810,2378,2806,74744.9%17.2%34.3%7.1%
201910,4988,3376,86843.8%19.0%35.0%7.0%
20208,9987,1215,77138.6%20.3%36.9%7.8%
202110,7128,5147,20439.1%21.3%34.7%9.1%
202210,8208,8856,95636.1%21.6%38.1%8.4%
202310,3578,3016,34136.4%24.6%42.2%9.1%
202410,9088,7246,32635.1%26.0%43.8%9.4%
202512,3459,7657,00836.0%26.4%43.1%8.4%
2026 (year to date)10,53510,5356,00534.6%27.8%42.5%8.6%

Each row counts the Applications for Authority on file with the New York Department of State whose filing date falls in that year, once per DOS ID (the entity's first application), for foreign limited liability companies and foreign professional service limited liability companies. It includes LLCs that later surrendered their authority, so each row is that year's flow of new registrations, not a count of LLCs on file today. The county and fictitious-name shares are of that year's applications; "Formed more than a year earlier" is of the applications that state a usable home-state formation date. 2026 is partial, through October 19, 2026: compare it only with the "January 1 to October 19" column, never with a full year.

Download full table (CSV)

Home jurisdiction

Home jurisdiction of foreign LLCs filing an Application for Authority, October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 (as of October 19, 2026)
Home jurisdictionCountShare
Delaware7,54557.53%
New Jersey8816.72%
Florida7425.66%
Wyoming5724.36%
Texas3752.86%
Pennsylvania2882.20%
Connecticut2642.01%
California2571.96%
Georgia1411.08%
Colorado1331.01%
Virginia1300.99%
Nevada1250.95%
Massachusetts1250.95%
Ohio1190.91%
Illinois1080.82%
All other jurisdictions (40 jurisdictions)1,3109.99%
Total13,115100.00%

Denominator: the 13,115 Applications for Authority filed by foreign LLCs and foreign professional service LLCs from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026, once per DOS ID. The home jurisdiction is the one the application states, as the State file records it. The 15 largest are shown; the CSV lists every jurisdiction with its count for every year since 1994.

Download full table (CSV)

Applications for Authority per year, 10 largest home jurisdictions (as of October 19, 2026)
Home jurisdiction201820192020202120222023202420252026 (year to date)
Delaware6,7476,8685,7717,2046,9566,3416,3267,0086,005
New Jersey596638516601618679756843700
Florida373340349409501524589710609
Wyoming102131156191191263372537485
Texas155173186178213261276325318
Pennsylvania178196176164215216246266230
Connecticut151197113196208172231241218
California179183160218233209247257206
Georgia85819077120106112142119
Colorado7862597672767512394

Each cell counts the Applications for Authority filed that year by foreign LLCs from that home jurisdiction, once per DOS ID. Jurisdictions are the 10 with the most applications from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026. 2026 runs through October 19, 2026 and is not comparable to a full year.

County named on the Application for Authority

New York county named on Applications for Authority filed by foreign LLCs, October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 (as of October 19, 2026)
CountyCountShare
New York County (Manhattan)4,52034.46%
Albany County3,60327.47%
Kings County (Brooklyn)8086.16%
Nassau County5774.40%
Westchester County5444.15%
Suffolk County4993.80%
Erie County3392.58%
Queens County3062.33%
Rockland County2581.97%
Monroe County1861.42%
Bronx County1290.98%
Saratoga County1140.87%
Onondaga County1110.85%
Orange County1050.80%
Dutchess County940.72%
Richmond County (Staten Island)740.56%
Ulster County590.45%
Niagara County570.43%
Broome County530.40%
Chemung County430.33%
Oneida County410.31%
Schenectady County360.27%
Rensselaer County350.27%
Chautauqua County300.23%
Warren County260.20%
Madison County260.20%
Sullivan County250.19%
Tompkins County220.17%
Ontario County220.17%
Essex County220.17%
Steuben County220.17%
Putnam County210.16%
Columbia County210.16%
Delaware County210.16%
Jefferson County200.15%
Greene County190.14%
Washington County180.14%
Cayuga County130.10%
Cattaraugus County120.09%
Clinton County110.08%
St. Lawrence County110.08%
Herkimer County110.08%
Seneca County110.08%
Oswego County100.08%
Montgomery County100.08%
Wayne County100.08%
Franklin County100.08%
Otsego County100.08%
Yates County100.08%
Allegany County90.07%
Fulton County80.06%
Genesee County80.06%
Wyoming County80.06%
Livingston County60.05%
Tioga County60.05%
Chenango County60.05%
Cortland County60.05%
Lewis County60.05%
Hamilton County60.05%
Orleans County40.03%
Schuyler County40.03%
Not stated20.02%
Schoharie County10.01%
Total13,115100.02%

Denominator: the 13,115 Applications for Authority filed by foreign LLCs and foreign professional service LLCs from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026, once per DOS ID. County is the county stated on the Application for Authority (item THIRD) at filing, not necessarily where the LLC operates. Counties named on no application in the window are not listed; the CSV adds each county's count across all years and a split by Delaware and other home jurisdictions. The share naming New York County and Albany County in each year is in the by-year table above.

Download full table (CSV)

Time from home-state formation to the New York filing

Time from home-state formation to the Application for Authority, October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 (as of October 19, 2026)
Home jurisdictionUsable formation dates0 to 30 days31 to 365 days1 to 3 yearsMore than 3 yearsMore than a year
All13,10930.5%27.2%14.7%27.6%42.3%
Delaware7,54344.1%29.1%11.4%15.3%26.7%
Other jurisdictions5,56612.0%24.5%19.1%44.4%63.5%
New Jersey88110.7%27.1%19.6%42.6%62.2%
Florida7419.9%28.3%22.8%39.0%61.8%
Wyoming57231.8%37.6%19.6%11.0%30.6%
Texas3757.7%24.3%20.5%47.5%68.0%
Pennsylvania28812.2%21.2%16.3%50.3%66.7%
Connecticut2649.5%22.0%22.3%46.2%68.6%
California2567.0%18.8%22.3%52.0%74.2%
Georgia1417.8%17.0%15.6%59.6%75.2%

Denominator for each row: that group's Applications for Authority filed from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 that state a usable home-state formation date (stated, and not after the filing date); 6 applications in the window are left out for that reason. The formation date is the one the applicant wrote on the application. It says nothing about when the LLC began any activity in New York. The 8 jurisdictions below "Other jurisdictions" are the largest outside Delaware.

Time from home-state formation to the Application for Authority, by words in the LLC's name, October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 (as of October 19, 2026)
Words in the nameUsable formation datesMore than a yearMore than 3 years
Name has a construction or trades word (Construction, Contracting, Builders, Roofing, ...)24064.6%45.4%
Name has "Consulting", "Consultant(s)" or "Advisory"28560.0%42.5%
Name has a medical or health word (Medical, Health, Dental, Clinic, ...)37555.7%35.5%
Name has a technology word (Tech, Software, Digital, Data, ...)39853.3%36.4%
Name has an insurance word (Insurance, Underwriters, Risk)39547.6%30.1%
Name has a real estate word (Realty, Property, Apartments, Development, ...)68739.4%28.7%
Name has a capital or investment word (Capital, Partners, Fund, Equity, ...)1,19837.6%21.8%
Name has "Holding(s)" or "Holdco"57833.6%19.9%
Name has an energy word (Solar, Energy, Power, Storage, ...)38325.8%17.0%
Name starts with a street number87514.7%7.9%
Name has a deal-vehicle word (Owner, Borrower, Mezz, Propco, Lessee, Landlord, Tenant)3697.0%3.3%

Denominator for each row: the Applications for Authority filed from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 whose LLC name contains one of that row's words and that state a usable formation date. A word in a name is not a business purpose ("Partners" and "Capital" appear in every industry), a name can match several rows, and most names match none. Each row's label gives examples of its words.

Download full table (CSV)

Fictitious names and names already on file

Fictitious names on Applications for Authority, October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 (as of October 19, 2026)
GroupApplicationsFictitious nameFictitious-name shareTrue name matched an active New York nameMatched share
All13,1151,1338.6%7245.5%
Delaware7,5453775.0%2643.5%
Other jurisdictions5,57075613.6%4608.3%
New Jersey88111112.6%788.9%
Florida74210113.6%354.7%
Wyoming5727012.2%447.7%
Texas3754311.5%236.1%
Pennsylvania2884013.9%258.7%
Connecticut2644517.0%3212.1%
California2573011.7%218.2%
Georgia141149.9%117.8%
Colorado1331813.5%129.0%
Virginia1302116.2%1310.0%
Filed under a fictitious name1,1331,133100.0%68360.3%

Denominator for each row: that group's Applications for Authority filed from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026, once per DOS ID. "Fictitious name" means the application was filed under a fictitious name, which the Department of State records separately from the LLC's true name. "True name matched" means another entity's active name on the Department of State's name history, filed before the application, has the same name once case, punctuation, spacing, articles and entity designators (LLC, Inc., Corp. and the like) are ignored. That match misses plurals, numerals and near-spellings, so it is a floor, and the other name's status is its status today.

Download full table (CSV)

Effective date and filing date

Effective date compared with filing date (as of October 19, 2026)
FilingsCountEffective on the filing dateShareEffective laterEffective earlier
Applications for Authority, last 12 months13,11513,03199.4%777
Applications for Authority, all years226,231226,11799.9%1995
Articles of Organization of New York LLCs, last 12 months180,557179,34399.3%1,2122

Denominators: the Applications for Authority filed by foreign LLCs from October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026 (13,115) and in all years on record (226,231), once per DOS ID, as dated in the Department of State's records; and, for contrast, the 180,557 Articles of Organization filed by New York LLCs over the same 12 months. The Department of State's records do not explain the "earlier" values.

Download full table (CSV)

Applications filed in an individual's name

Applications for Authority filed in a named individual's name, approved September 21, 2026 to October 20, 2026 (as of October 20, 2026)
Home jurisdictionApplications approvedFiled in a named individual's nameShare
All1,49643328.9%
Delaware88410912.3%
Other jurisdictions61232452.9%

Denominator for each row: the foreign LLC Applications for Authority the Department of State approved from September 21, 2026 to October 20, 2026, from the State's daily filing file (the only State file that names the filer, and it keeps about 30 days of approvals). A filing counts as "in a named individual's name" when the filer named on it is a person, not a company, a law firm, an accountant or the LLC itself. The filer is whoever the filing names, not who decided anything; an individual filer may be an owner, an employee or a firm's staff. Approvals in the window can include applications filed earlier.

Download full table (CSV)

Changes filed in the first year after the application

Foreign LLCs filing a change to, or ending, their authority within a year of the application (2022 to 2024 applications) (as of October 19, 2026)
FilingLLCsShare
Any of the filings below3,39810.6%
Certificate of Change2,0516.4%
Surrender of Authority6051.9%
Certificate of Amendment4721.5%
Certificate of Termination2200.7%
Certificate of Correction1270.4%
Certificate of Merger430.1%

Denominator: the 32,085 foreign LLCs and foreign professional service LLCs whose first Application for Authority was filed in 2022 to 2024, each with a full year after the application on record. An LLC counts once per row however many such filings it made, and once in "Any of the filings below". Filings made by the LLC within 365 days of the application; a Certificate of Change by Agent (the agent's own filing) is not counted.

What those Certificates of Change, Amendment and Correction changed (as of October 19, 2026)
Item changedLLCsShare
Address for service of process1,6895.3%
Registered agent1,0433.3%
County7712.4%
True name3701.2%
Home-state formation date00.0%
Home jurisdiction2<0.1%

Denominator: the same 32,085 foreign LLCs. Each row counts the LLCs that filed, within a year of the application, a Certificate of Change, Amendment or Correction marked by the Department of State as changing that item. "County" counts only a change to a different county.

Download full table (CSV)

LLC Publishers' publication price by county

LLC Publishers publishes a foreign LLC's notice in the county named on its Application for Authority. LLC Publishers' price is one fixed, one-time total determined by the county on the LLC's Application for Authority. LLC Publishers' price covers both clerk-designated newspapers for the full six weeks, the notarized affidavits of publication, and the Certificate of Publication filed with the Department of State, the $50 state filing fee included. A customer is never quoted a statewide range. Newspaper rates vary by county. The LLC designates the county; LLC Publishers does not recommend one. These prices are LLC Publishers' own, not State data, and are read from its price list each time this page refreshes.

LLC Publishers' base prices by New York county, as of October 2026.A foreign LLC adds $500 for the additional requirements of NY LLC Law §802: a longer notice and more to verify before publishing.
CountyBase price
Albany County$395
Allegany County$425
Bronx County$1,745
Broome County$425
Cattaraugus County$425
Cayuga County$425
Chautauqua County$425
Chemung County$425
Chenango County$425
Clinton County$425
Columbia County$425
Cortland County$425
Delaware County$425
Dutchess County$425
Erie County$445
Essex County$425
Franklin County$425
Fulton County$425
Genesee County$425
Greene County$425
Hamilton County$425
Herkimer County$425
Jefferson County$425
Kings County (Brooklyn)$1,475
Lewis County$425
Livingston County$425
Madison County$425
Monroe County$595
Montgomery County$425
Nassau County$625
New York County (Manhattan)$1,795
Niagara County$445
Oneida County$425
Onondaga County$425
Ontario County$425
Orange County$425
Orleans County$425
Oswego County$425
Otsego County$425
Putnam County$685
Queens County$1,195
Rensselaer County$425
Richmond County (Staten Island)$1,295
Rockland County$445
Saratoga County$425
Schenectady County$425
Schoharie County$425
Schuyler County$425
Seneca County$425
St. Lawrence County$425
Steuben County$425
Suffolk County$625
Sullivan County$445
Tioga County$425
Tompkins County$425
Ulster County$425
Warren County$425
Washington County$425
Wayne County$425
Westchester County$395
Wyoming County$425
Yates County$425

Download full table (CSV)

Methodology

Every figure on this page except the price table is counted from the New York Department of State's public filing records on NY Open Data, extracted October 22, 2026, with filings through October 19, 2026. Each Application for Authority counts once per DOS ID, at the entity's first application. The price table is LLC Publishers' own price list, not State data.

Source system
New York Department of State records published on NY Open Data (data.ny.gov): "Corporations and Other Entities: All Filings" (dataset 63wc-4exh) for every Application for Authority and later filing; "Daily Corporation and Other Entity Filing Data" (k4vb-judh), the only State file that names the filer, for the individual-filer table; "All Filings - Name Status History" (ekwr-p59j) for the name match. Unlike the Delaware dataset on this site, nothing here comes from LLC Publishers' own database, except the price table, which is LLC Publishers' price list.
Extraction timestamp
Extracted from data.ny.gov on October 22, 2026. The latest filing date in the extract, October 19, 2026, is the "data as of" date throughout; "last 12 months" means applications filed October 20, 2025 to October 19, 2026. The individual-filer table covers applications the Department of State approved September 21, 2026 to October 20, 2026: that file holds only about the last 30 days of approvals.
Refresh frequency
A fixed snapshot: the figures change only when LLC Publishers rebuilds the dataset from fresh extracts with the same queries, and the version label and "data as of" date change with it. The price table is the exception: it is read from LLC Publishers' price list and refreshes at most once every 24 hours.
Included entity types
"FOREIGN LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY" and "FOREIGN PROFESSIONAL SERVICE LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY" only, matched exactly. A substring match on "FOREIGN" would also pull in registered foreign limited liability partnerships and unauthorized foreign LLCs, so this dataset never uses one.
Included statuses
Every Application for Authority on file, whatever the entity's status today: an LLC that later surrendered its authority or ended still counts in the year it applied.
Definition of "application"
An "application" is a filing of the Department of State's document type "APPLICATION OF AUTHORITY". Each DOS ID counts once, at its first application (earliest filing date, then film number); the county, home jurisdiction, name and formation date come from that first application.
Exclusions
New York-formed LLCs (except the one contrast row in the effective-date table), foreign corporations, partnerships and LLPs. In the first-year table, a Certificate of Change by Agent and an agent's resignation are left out: each is the agent's own filing, not one the LLC made.
Jurisdiction normalization
The State file records the home jurisdiction as a two-letter code. U.S. state, District of Columbia and territory codes display as names; any other code displays as recorded (for example, Recorded as "EN"). The file records "NY" on a few dozen applications a year, although a foreign LLC is formed outside New York; those also display as recorded. A blank code displays as "Not stated" and is counted.
County normalization
County is the New York county named on the application (item THIRD). The State file shortens county names to ten characters; four are restored to their full names (Westchester, Cattaraugus, Schenectady, St. Lawrence). No other renaming or merging. On this page each county reads "<name> County", with the borough for a New York City county (for example, New York County (Manhattan)); the CSV keeps the State's names.
How the by-year table is built
Each year counts the applications filed that year (first per DOS ID), including LLCs that later surrendered their authority or ended, so the years are comparable flows of new registrations. 2026 is partial: the "January 1 to October 19" column counts each year over the same days, which is the like-for-like comparison.
Duplicate and corrected filings
A DOS ID with more than one Application for Authority on file counts once, at its first. A later correction or amendment does not change what that first application recorded; it appears only in the first-year table.
Blank counties
Empty county values and the literal text "Blank" both display as "Not stated", are kept as their own row and are counted in every total.
Known limitations
Dates are as the State file records them; the earliest Application for Authority on record is dated March 29, 1994. County is the county named on the application, not necessarily where the LLC operates. Formation dates are as the applicant stated them; a missing date, or one after the filing date, is left out of the formation-lag shares. Name-word groups are words in the name, not business purposes: a name can match several groups, and most names match none. The name match ignores case, punctuation, spacing, articles and entity designators but not plurals, numerals or near-spellings, so it is a floor, and it uses each matched name's status today. The individual-filer table is one 30-day approval window, and an individual filer may be an owner, an employee or a firm's staff.
Revision policy
The version label and dateModified change when the snapshot is rebuilt or the method changes. Earlier snapshots are not archived on this page.

Sources

Related guides

Suggested citation

LLC Publishers. (2026). Foreign LLCs Registering in New York: Applications for Authority (Version 2026-10) [Data set]. Retrieved October 23, 2026, from https://www.llcpublishers.com/research/foreign-llcs-in-new-york